DUI Lawyer in Tennessee
A DUI charge is something that will follow you for life, and if it happens more than once, sentencing and fines become far more severe. Even though a DUI is a misdemeanor charge that only attracts a year or less in jail for the first offense, multiple offenses may land you with felony charges and an insurmountable amount of debt.
For this reason, you need to have a criminal DUI attorney to battle the prosecution for you. Hire a lawyer who understands the seriousness o,f a DUI charge and how it can impact your life. Even though you may avoid jail time, the suspension of your driver's license and the litany of fines can hinder your life in so many ways – from losing respect from others to losing your job.
You need Richards and Colburn Law to help you beat that DUI charge.
Who We Are
We are a midsized Nashville law firm located downtown whose sole purpose is to provide everyone that walks through our doors with skilled legal advice in the most efficient manner possible. We don’t stop until you receive a successful outcome.
As Tennessee DUI lawyers, we have over two decades of combined experience spanning various legal fields.
Why Should You Trust Us?
We take our work as criminal DUI attorneys in Tennessee extremely seriously. As students, we both graduated at the top of our classes, and we carried our enthusiasm and dedication for the law with us into our careers. All these years later, and we are proud to boast that we have maintained a high and consistent success rate with our clients. Our promise to you is we aren't just going to try and get you a lesser charge; rather, we will fight the charges against you in their entirety to get you the justice you deserve. Over the years on the job, we have learned how prosecutors work and think. Our many years of experience are what have placed us in the best possible position to help you win your legal battles. We have successfully defended many clients who have dealt with DUI issues, many of which involved cases of high blood alcohol content levels.
Penalties for a First Offense DUI in Tennessee
You may be wondering what penalties first-time DUI offenders in Tennessee may face. For a DUI first offense in Tennessee, the penalties can include:
Jail time: Between 48 hours to 11 months and 29 days
Probation: 11 months and 29 days
Fine: Ranging from $350 to $1100
One year loss of your driver's license
If you install an ignition interlock device, you're eligible to apply for a limited driving permit
Here are the punishments for repeated offenses:
Second offense: 45 days in jail and fines up to $600
Third offense: 120 days in jail and fines up to $1,100
Fourth or subsequent offense: A felony with fines between $3,000 and $15,000
DUI with child under 18 years: Fines $1,000 in addition to the fine for the DUI offense
Felony DUI Charges in Tennessee
On your fourth DUI offense, the court can impose a felony DUI charge. A conviction could result in a jail sentence of up to one year alongside thousands of dollars in penalties. In order to save yourself from these punishments, you’ll need an experienced and knowledgeable Nashville DUI lawyer to thoroughly examine all the relevant facts related to your case. Hiring a good attorney is your only chance to avoid serious jail time, harsh fines, and a potential felony.
Richards and Colburn Law: Tennessee DUI Lawyers
Anything can happen in a DUI case, especially if you’re without competent representation once you’ve been arrested. Let Richards and Colburn Law examine your case and represent you if you are charged with DUI. Our legal strategies and knowledge allow us to consistently beat DUI charges. Don't face the law without an attorney by your side. Contact us today for help with your DUI charge.